Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Tourism has finally come back to life after the pandemic wore off and the best-sellers in the bookshops are all relevant to learning non-native tongues. For some publishers, visiting foreign countries is the only reason that the readers buy those books. Whereas some foreign culture enthusiasts might argue the opposite. In the following essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and elaborate on the reasons why I side with the latter opinion as the initiatives of learning languages can be varied. On the one hand, the motive for language can be quite simple such as curiosity by nature. Cultural diversity brings different incentives to society every so often. Japanese songs are sung in graduation ceremonies and Hollywood movies are also prevalent. Some local residents just adore the exotic culture and make no plans for visiting these countries. For example, I personally enjoy singing Indian songs because of the acoustic background music and the meaningful lyrics. However, I never want to go there because of the security issue. In other words, there is a significant difference in experiencing the nations and learning languages. People might need to consider political or weather problems while travelling to foreign countries. On the other hand, some book dealers believe that learning new languages requires determination, so if the goal of learning them is not related to solving physical living-matter issues, their passions can deteriorate gradually and give up easily. For instance, although some students might learn some Japanese vocabulary from dramas or movies, this might not enable them to know more about grammar. Consequently, it will be a waste of time for them to do so. Nevertheless, I think the prejudice of learning persistence is short-sighted. Even though the goal can be minor, it is still the beginning of it. Based on previous familiarity with the language, the learner might be able to catch up with relevant knowledge shortly. In conclusion, I believe the motivation for learning new foreign tongues can be diverse, instead of compulsory reactions because of real-life stress. The curiosity to explore different aspects of culture is usually a primitive but probably the most commonly seen driving factor.