Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Having your child going to a respectable university is the dream of any parent. The perfect life plan was finishing high school and starting college straight away. However, many students nowadays prefers to take a sabatical year in between high school and college for the purpose of working or travelling abroad, and this can raise many concerns for the parents, as the children can loose momentum and therefore, not go to college. Although this can be true, taking a year off can have plenty of advantages which outweights outweigh the negative aspects. Firstly, deciding what someone will do for the rest of their life is a challeging task. Not everybody grows up knowing what will be their dream job, and it is too much pressure to put on a teenager. This pressure can overwhelm the child, and as a consequence, they will be stressed and can lead to depression, and even suicide. At the same time, if a teenager is unclear on what career to pursue, taking a year off can be eye-opening. Instead of rushing into choosing the wrong career, working on different fields will broaden the options, it can be useful to develop new skills, and even finding their talent. In addition, travelling abroad can open perspectives, by conneting with people with different cultures, and living on their own will also increase independence. In conclusion, starting college right after high school has an advantage as the person will not change focus and will keep studying, so they will likely graduate. On the other hand, taking a sabatical has many positive consequences that are far more beneficial to an individual, such as broadening their horizons and becoming more mature, and this will likely make the person more successful in life. Moreover, after having had plenty of different experiences, choosing what major to pursue during college can be more assertive as the person will be more mature. Recent studies have proven that majority of people who graduated from college later in life have a more successful career.