The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this statement.

One key argument is improving the quality of life of people, should be the most vital goal of science above all. I completely agree with this point of view because not only does it require a large amount of funding but also currently our natural resources are depleting at a rapid pace. Nowadays, a sizeable amount of money is being used in science for experiments and discoveries., However these funds could be used otherwise to solve catastrophic social problems which could destroy human lives in a substantial way. For example, if money, which is being used for science, can be diverted to social work, it will aid in solving the hunger problem easily, which our world has been suffering for decades. Thus I think new discoveries should be made through science to set human living standards up to a high level which is worth spending money on. Moreover, in the present-day people are living in a dying world. For instance, our natural sources like water, oxygen and forests, which are essential for life, are depleting in a rapid manner. Therefore inventing new technologies and developing more sustainable ways to increase these primary needs of humans should be a priority in the science field. Furthermore, more projects like Space X should be enforced because their aim is to evolve human civilisation to outer space which may be necessary for the survival of the human race. In conclusion I think science should prioritize making human lives better because a large amount of money is being used in the scientific field which could be relocated otherwise and we are living at the end stage of our planet which needs new inventions to survive as a race.