In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

It has been observed that people no longer die early in some parts of the world, leading to more old ones. While some individuals believe this trend causes trouble for the government, others say it is beneficial to the community. Personally, the merits are minimal when compared to its drawbacks. On the one hand, having a more aged population bring a financial burden to the authority. This is because they have to provide for their basic needs like proper healthcare, and monthly dues since most of them are pensionable. Furthermore, when we have a high number of old ones in society, the responsibility of the people in power increases, as the majority of them are susceptible to infections due to old age which will make them always use the health insurance scheme that is catered for by the executives. Hence, more number of adult is a great economic burden to the government. However, elders also have a positive influence on society, even though their assignments can be carried out by other people. For instance, generally, youth like consulting them for advice when they want to take decisions regarding their careers or when planning to get married. Although, quite a number of them would meet their spiritual fathers for guidance and counselling. Research carried out in Nigeria shows that more than half of the youngsters now reside in cities where they have to decide on their future alone without approaching anyone on the way forward. Therefore, their impacts on our environment have been drastically reduced. In conclusion, it appears to me that the merits of having adults in our countries dwarf its disadvantages, as most of them have to depend on authorities for survival which is really upsetting the system.