The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out to have private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss.

Whether it is the government’s obligation to pay medical bills for the public has always been a hotly debated topic. While some maintain that everyone should bear the responsibility of their own health issues, others suggest that medical care should be made free. This essay will outline some of the most prominent advantages and disadvantages of the two suggestions. On one hand, the cancellation of public health care by having the public address any health problems by themselves can surely solve some difficulties. For example, once the government does not need to spend a great deal of tax money on Medicare, the portion could be used on other sectors, namely education, national defence, et cetera, to improve living conditions and facilitate social development. Moreover, underpaid and overworked doctors and nurses would no doubt receive a substantial pay rise, which would be a strong incentive to medical advancement. However, it is crucial not to neglect the suffering and hardship that might be inflicted on poor people, especially those who are already experiencing adversity settling hospital bills. For instance, more than 70,000 Americans died last year because they could not afford the exorbitant fees of private insurance. Without national health insurance and government subsidies, it is not hard to imagine millions of more deaths resulting from a completely privatised medical system. On the other hand, in countries where universal and free healthcare is implemented, visible benefits and drawbacks exist simultaneously. The bright side of granting all citizens the right to access medical services free of charge is that even the poorest and most vulnerable members of society are protected by law. To illustrate this, the NHS in the UK can be enlightening. The NHS, which is publicly funded, helps an average of 600 million UK residents per year and is reported to have raised life expectancy by 1.2 years. Furthermore, according to some studies, life expectancy in territories with free health care is significantly longer than in regions without a universal healthcare system. Nevertheless, as previously mentioned, medical staff in systems like the NHS are severely exploited and not treated well. What is even worse is the often extremely slow and inefficient procedures that make the wait time unbearably long and sometimes deadly for patients. The average waiting time for non-urgent cases in the UK can be up to six months, sparking a wellspring of discontent in the public. In summary, both measures have their staunch supporters since different people have dissimilar concerns, and it is hard to pick a side because side effects always come along. In this sense, governments should discriminate carefully between the two alternatives and make the best decision to protect their citizens.