The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that the ultimate goal of science is to make humans’ lives better. In my opinion, I believe with this point of view because science helps to eliminate false notions besides improving the quality of life. To begin with, the advent of science has transformed our lives in a positive way, particularly our health. A good example of it is the development of Covid 19 vaccines. Prior to their invention, colossal numbers of people passed away on the grounds that their bodies didn’t have antibodies to combat the virus. Thanks to scientific development, medical companies like Pfizer provided vaccinations for residents in 2020, which helped to boost their immune systems to fight against novel viruses. As a result, everyone can now go to the park without wearing masks or using hand sanitiser. In addition, the existence of science can help to eradicate superstitions prevailing in the society. To illustrate, people in ancient times held a belief that bats entering the house meant death and this was considered to be a bad omen. However, according to studies conducted by scientists, bats contain a deadly virus called Nipah, which results in severe syndromes such as delirium, tremors, and violent coughing. With that being said, those who live close to bats are more likely to get infected by its pathogens. In conclusion, the assumption that science is merely a tool for humans to live easier is not sufficient. In fact, science omits false beliefs in a population, and it enables us not to mislead ourselves into doing something wrong.