In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face-to-face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is becoming more popular for people to use the Internet to communicate than in-person meetings in many offices. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I believe that its benefits are greater. On the one hand, having computer meetings can cause misunderstanding. It is because some icons on the computer cannot explant clearly the emotion of people. For example, an email from this office to another office can include some negative words or icons that make others feel inferior. Meanwhile, people can express themself effectively when talking face-to-face. Another negative effect is network connection is unstable which leads to miss messages, lost emails, and low productivity. On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of online meetings pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Communicating online allows employees to work more accessible and comfortably. For example, employees who work from home in this branch can have a meeting with others in another branch. Besides, online platforms like Zoom and Microsoft Teams can offer features such as screen sharing, and recording, which make virtual meetings as effective as face-to-face ones. In conclusion, despite the several benefits that computer meeting has, it seems to me that they are far outweighed by the potential problems.