Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life offers benefits to the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Taking a break between high school and university has been becoming popular among teenagers recently. I strongly agree with this decision because youngers may have more time to reflect on themselves, and can gain more insights about what is happening outside the scope of the academic environment as well. One of the benefits of delaying entering college for one year is, teenagers can have plenty of time to think mindfully about their edges and shortcomings. Over the course of their school years, they might have been either too young or too busy with their studying schedule to review themselves carefully. By taking a year out, they get to learn, understand the real person inside them and practice self-love. This is proven in reality when we have seen many students discover their hidden talents during the gap period before taking the next step to achieve their educational goals. On top of that, a non-academic life is a valuable lesson for young people about the true nature of society. A short-term job or a trip to a distant destination can give them the experience and awareness of what society expects from them. Then returning to school life, they can get a sense of purpose, they can filter out what is redundant in the university program and focus more on what is really important for them, as shown in the outstanding academic results and high employment rates of students taking a gap year as opposed to the ones who don't in some Vietnamese universities. To conclude, young people should spend one year staying from university to understand themselves better, and that also helps them learn many practical lessons to become more effective when returning to college.