The most important aim of science should be improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The most important aim of science should be improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. At present, it is sometimes believed that scientists should focus only on practical problems. However, in my opinion, on no account should the study of purely theoretical disciplines be underestimated. In this essay, the advantages of practically directed research are presented followed by the analysis of why theoretical research is also an integral part of science. On the one hand, research in tertiary institutions must be oriented towards world’s pressing problems because it improves the quality of life for future generations. There are a great deal of challenges humanity must conquer such as environmental pollution, global warming, and poverty. Without directly investing money and workforce in finding solutions to these issues, it will be impossible for humankind to prosper in the long run. For example, it was not until a dozen of experiments was done in laboratories that renewable resources of energy were invented. If it were not for them, then the problem of the depletion of natural resources would be even worse now. For this reason, scientific institutions must focus on research that benefits people’s lives. On the other hand, sciences that cannot be directly applied to benefit humanity are also important to study. Methods from one field can be used to make a discovery in another. For example, using tools from mathematics, a physicist was able to invent electric current. In history, there was a ton of cases when a discovery in a field found its use only one hundred years later. Therefore, all branches of science must be investigated because the knowledge of all sciences is required to make a breakthrough. In conclusion, I firmly believe that research institutions must conduct their work in all areas of science because it opens new ways of approaching the world’s greatest problems and ultimately improves human life.