Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Main urban places around the world are faced with increased homelessness. It is argued that people in major cities are faced with homeless. The essay will discuss the causes and solutions that can be applied to reduce the issue. Homelessness is caused by the absence of affordable social housing. As such, less affordable social housing within cities renders folks coming from lower socioeconomic backgrounds and low incomes homeless as they cannot afford the rent charged by the market. For instance, almost 100 human beings per night sleep on the street in Australia due to high rentals and the inadequacy of affordable housing. Psychological disorder is another cause of homelessness. Most persons who live with psychological disorders are among those who are affected by homelessness as they lack the capacity to maintain their tenancy. Thus, organisations that provide community social housing often would not provide a house for someone living with mental health disability unless they have proof that they can maintain tenancy and have support. The solution available to resolve homelessness is for the government to provide more affordable housing. Government should invest in building more social housing and provide schemes that allow people to buy to rent those social housing. For example, Finland is one of the countries that has managed to reduce homelessness by working with non-organisation in providing more affordable social housing. On the other hand, the housing first model can be used to assist those with mental health. The housing first model provides those living with mental health disorders a house without asking them to provide proof that they can maintain tenancy or have support. Particularly in Brisbane, this model has been applied to homeless folks living with mental health disorders and research has proven that 4 in 6 persons are able to end their homeless In conclusion, cities around the world are faced with an increase in homelessness. Such causes of homelessness are inadequacy of affordable social housing and mental health disorder. In order to resolve these challenging issues, governments should provide more affordable social housing and use housing first for those living with mental health illnesses.