Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is suggested that, what the regime should do for crime committers is to give an opportunity for rehabilitation rather than keep them in jail, whereas others opine that it is more essential approach in order to save social stability. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, it is proved by many psychologists and doctors that around 90 percent of people who tend to commit any kind of serious crime such as, kidnapping, assassination or murder, terrorism and rape have psychological issues. In other words, individuals who are mentally ill can not only be aggressive towards people but also try to do harmful things which may have tremendous repercussions. Hence, the main thing that the state must do is to assist them to deal with it, focus on their internal state not keep them in prison many years. For instance, it would be better to oblige them to have private conversations with specialists like psychologist or psychotherapist. In result, they may not commit crime afterwards. On the other hand, it would be definitely wrong decision to let that kind of people interact with society especially if they are on the recovery period. By this I mean that the healing process takes time, during it there must not be any distraction or annoying situations which may lead to the any conflict and I suppose that prison terms are important in order to avoid it. In conclusion, from the aforementioned arguments I still believe that long-term rehabilitation and prison conditions are equally important.