These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Lately, some people argue that retired parents often choose to use their money on themselves rather than keep their money for their children. Although it can be a negative development, I think it is a completely positive development for the following two reasons. Firstly, children try to live by themselves independently with a strong position because their parents don’t tend to support their life. This means their parents think about spending money by themselves unlike saving money for children. If their parents keep money for children, they don’t go out to enjoy their life not to spend money and they might start to bother children ’s life. National Research in 2020 shows that 10% of children live with their parents whose parents keep their money for their children, compared to 90% of children who live by themselves whose parents don’t do that. As a result, spending money by parents that is earned by themselves has a positive impact on children living independently. Secondly, the area where the old people enjoy their life is popular to move in and live in because they focus on living their life. Therefore, local society would be energetic and tend to go out to meet their friend or travel. For instance, the data from Tokyo University shows that old people who spend their money after retiring tend to join the local festival and be cooperative to do with other local people. In addition, the well-being degree was higher than those who don’t. Hence, the town would be vivid and people who live in other areas tend to think about moving there. In conclusion, there are two reasons which explain why spending money is a positive development. One is because their children tend to live independently, and the other one is because the society where old people enjoy their life using their money is popular to move in and live.