Topic : In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

n some cultures around the world, it is deemed appropriate to place elderly family members in care homes. However, I do not agree with this as I find it discourteous. The following essay will explore the possible reasons why senior citizens belong with their families. It is the moral duty of daughters and sons to take care of their parents when they become older. Parents sacrifice so much time and energy throughout their lives in order to provide a financially secure future for their offspring. Therefore, when these children become adults, they should look after the people who raised them. For instance, a recent survey conducted among mothers revealed that over half of the participants have given up their careers in order to stay at home and take care of their youth. Unquestionably, one could never truly repay their guardians for all the sacrifices they have made. Moreover, assisted living facilities are not always as safe as they may seem. How much can nursing home employees truly be trusted? Sure, some employers perform thorough background checks on their workers; however, this rule does not apply to all of them. An accurate example of the dangers senior citizens could face is a case that occurred in America in 2020. Four inhabitants at a nursing facility were found to be poisoned, it was later determined that the culprit was a mentally unstable employee. Clearly, the safest place for senior citizens is their home. To conclude, I believe that it is ethically correct for an individual to support elder family members and ensure their comfort in a family home. In addition, it guarantees their well-being as it protects them from strangers who may wish them harm.