Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In some nations when students graduate they may take a year before applications to universities, so, they are capable of pursuing what they want to do. Gap year has become a crucial part of many young people's life, however, there is no absolute point of view regarding the utility of the phenomenon since it might be considered beneficial by some insividuals, while others can find this pastime pointless. One of the main positives of gap year is that school leavers appear to be supplied with an opportunity to comprehend their initial desire through multiple jobs. For instance, owing to a recent survey, it was justified that do almost two-thirds of all young people in the US have no clue where to continue their studies and what professions are the most appropriate. Therefore, it would be pointful to take a break after high school in order to indicate suitable occupations by trying their hand at distinctive fields of activity. Furthermore, this type of recreation has a satisfactory influence on the portfolio of a student as work experience seems to be an aspect that distinguish him or her from other applicants. On the other hand, when young adults have one year of a spare time, they jeopardise their acceptance by the universities since entrance examination is a compulsory part of applications to many higher educational institutes. For example, first ranked institute of technology in Massachusetts obliges applicants to take an internal test, hence, many young individuals are more likely to fail those exams if there is no paid attention to education during vacation. In conclusion, having weighed everything mentioned up, it may be stated that gap year assists to understand what a young person desires and advances applications, whilst it may bring drawback, such as impaired knowledge when it comes to internal examinations.