Tourists damage many historical places, making them harder to preserve. What are some of the reasons for this? Suggest some ways to resolve this problem.

It is true that visitors are responsible for damage to historical sites, which makes their conservation more difficult. Even though this is a serious problem, it can be dealt with by heritage education since childhood. To begin with, tourists are eager to do something memorable while they visit famous places and neglect their importance. Furthermore, individuals tend be too excited to consider the meaning of the heritages, which leads to careless behavior that harms historical buildings or artifacts. For example, several travellers in Korea write down their names in Kyeongbok Palace which is one of the oldest heritages in Korea. To make matters worse, some of them even carve their name in it, which makes heritage centers have difficulty preserving meaningful structures. However, there are solutions to this problem. To prevent damage to historically significant sites is to teach children why we should preserve historic locations in order to encourage them not to destroy the cultural heritages. Our society should let the young know how much their careless behavior, such as harming considerable artifacts, can have an impact on preserving them negatively. For instance, in my country, elementary school students have to visit historical places, such as palaces or temples, once a year. During the visit, teachers tell them how many people have made an effort to protect the locations and why they should conduct themselves properly to preserve their cultural treasures. In conclusion, it is evident that reckless tourists cause a number of damage to historic sites, which makes preservation more challenging. Nevertheless, educational programs that inform students of proper behavior about heritage places can solve the problem.