Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measure and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Over the decades, humans have witnessed a significant change in the climatic conditions on Earth. The shift in the environmental system is largely due to global warming, which has become a hot potato. This essay analyzes the root causes of this situation and proposes countermeasures to reduce the risks associated with this alarming problem. There are many causes of global warming, but the main one is the greenhouse effect. The greenhouse effect is a phenomenon in which gases such as carbon dioxide trap heat from the sun, causing global temperatures to rise above optimal levels. Human activity equally contributes to the increase in CO2 emissions. Factories and vehicles emit carbon dioxide and smog that deplete the ozone layer that surrounds the earth. In addition, the use of fossil fuels and other harmful chemicals is another reason for global warming. Furthermore, countries are becoming more industrialized and dumping waste into the atmosphere without realizing its harmful effects or the severity of the problem. Rising temperatures due to global warming will lead to the melting of the polar ice caps, causing severe flooding, drought, and other extreme weather conditions. For example, while there is an increase in emissions due to vehicle congestion, the air quality is decreasing, which directly affects human health through respiratory diseases and lung cancer. Faced with a risk to society as a whole, the government should enforce strict policies and regulations to control industry carbon emissions. Firstly, reducing the usage of personal vehicles and promoting the use of eco-friendly public transportation is another technique that can help reduce pollution. For example, Sweden and the UK, whose citizens have embraced electric cars and bikes, reported having minimized CO2 emissions. Secondly, heads of state should also encourage the use of biodegradable products and outlaw the use of plastic. For instance, Australia has enacted a ban on the use of plastic bags, which has been enthusiastically responded to by all people starting to use reusable bags. In conclusion, despite facing pressing issues such as global warming, which is caused by CO2 pollution and the cutting of trees, there are steps that can be taken to overcome this problem, such as strict regulations to be followed and the usage of sustainable energy.