The best way to keep road transport safe is to make vehicle drivers have a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial idea debating whether the most efficacious method for ensuring safety in vehicular transportation on roadways is to institute an annual mandatory competency evaluation for drivers. Despite this may sounds to be appealing, I can hardly have any agreement on this idea. It is undeniable that the main reason why the road transport has such a bad reputation is because of the unconsciousness and carelessness of the pedestrians instead of the cars themselves. Obviously, having yearly driving tests contributes to the drivers' sense of familiarity with traffic rules, which contributes to reducing driver-caused traffic accidents and broadening their horizon by refreshing and introducing the latest regulations in these tests. However, the uncontrollable and unpredictable behaviour of those pedestrians may affect the actual efficiency of such tests, considering in some areas the ignorance of traffic and the breakage of the regulations of the road users are becoming common sense. As a result, a variety of situations are unable to be foreseen by exams and notwithstanding by it as well. Moreover, aside from the features that have been widely acknowledged, there are lots of other reasons that lead to unsafe road transport. In particular, bad car conditions significantly worsen road safety, cars in poor condition could be an obvious threat to anyone else on the road since their control quality is poor and usually behaves unpredictably, and neither their active nor their passive protection methods are lacking, leading to a significant reduction of surviving possibility when involving an accident. Likewise, those vehicles are unreliable and sometimes break down on the road, worsening the traffic and making accidents easier to occur. Therefore, other factors may also contribute to the lack of safety while driving on the street. In conclusion, although taking tests for drivers may have some positive impact on the reduction of accident rate, there are many other factors that are unable to be ignored