Some people believe it is better for governments to spend any available money for sports on providing facilities for the general population. Others believe that instead, they should invest in training top athletes to win major competitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public funds should be allocated correctly in the field that requires more aid. Therefore, it should be used for the betterment of the public specifically the money which is supposed to be spent on the sports sector, while opponents of the notion believe that the wealth should be invested in preparing athletes to achieve a gold medal. In my opinion, some portion of funds can be used to help people in need yet it is important to help training top sport person. On the one hand, if public finances are used to develop various infrastructures that can help poor people as shelter or provide them with some meals, it will be beneficial for the development of the country. Certainly, athletics can be sponsored by private companies despite exhausting government funds on it. In Canada, the poverty rate is very low since authorities serve homeless individuals with at least two meals a day, however, in the same country most of the tournaments and people in the same field are funded by wealthy industries. As a result, money should be invested in the sector where it is needed the most, that is, to fulfil public requirements. On the other hand, authorities should finance the training of top athletes to win major competitions as that will give name and fame to the country on a global scale. Consequently, the reputation of the nation will be improved throughout the world. For example, in the latest football championship, Argentina won the match as Lionel Messi was the star player who told in an interview that the government has played a major role in his achievement. Thus, throughout the globe, Argentina is known for its football game, likewise, if capital is invested in this field, the nation develops appreciation internationally. In conclusion, it is often argued that public funds should be invested whether for providing resources to the citizens or to prepare the national sportsperson. I think it is vital to overlook both segments of the society and distribution should be done impartially.