Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree.

It is well known that a lot of health issues are a consequence of most industrial comestibles, which have sugar as one of their main ingredients. I completely agree with the opinion of many people, who argue that the price of this kind of product should be increased because this is the only way to boost people to decline their consumption. The proportion of glucose, which can be incorporated through industrial processes exceeds by far the available in natural food like fruits and vegetables. This leads to a significant increase in daily sugar consumption, which is causing a dramatic rise in obesity rates in the US and Europe. This pathology brings directly several negative consequences to people’s health and wellness, for example, limitations on accessibility and mobility. But also, there is ample evidence to suggest that obesity has a significant influence on the development of chronic illnesses, such as diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Increasing the prices of manufactured food, not only will reduce consumption but will also generate a positive change in the industry. Firstly, it is clear that ultra-processed foods are in general cheaper than healthy food, which results in higher consumption of the first ones, so this change will invert this buying behaviour. Secondly, as a result of the sales decline, manufacturing companies will be forced to change their processes in order to maintain their incomes, so more healthy food will be available in the market. In conclusion, industrial food and drinks with high amounts of sugar are causing several negative impacts on people’s health. Therefore I strongly believe that its price should be increased, as a strategy to reduce the availability and the consumption of this kind of product.