In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many offices, online communication has become more common than face-to-face meetings. While some may view this as a disadvantageous trend, I believe that the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks for two main reasons. Firstly, online communication in the workplace saves organizations both time and money. Renting meeting rooms can be costly, and often, these rooms go unused. Additionally, it can take a lot of time to coordinate schedules without conflicts with other meetings. According to a survey by Tokyo University of companies in Tokyo, 70% of organizations have released their meeting rooms or moved into smaller rented offices to reduce costs. Although employees are present in their office during online meetings, they participate in online meetings almost every day, resulting in significant savings in time and money. Secondly, online meetings allow workers with diverse backgrounds to participate in communication with ease. They can easily record the meetings, show clear slides, make translations, and participate from home. For example, my company holds conferences twice a month that include designers, engineers, and directors. Some employees have different first languages, while others may have many tasks and cannot join the meetings on time. For these individuals, participating in online conferences is beneficial because it allows them to understand the meetings and watch archived videos at their convenience. Therefore, online communication is advantageous for people with different backgrounds. In conclusion, online communication saves time and money while also being helpful for workers from diverse backgrounds. Thus, the benefits of this development outweigh any potential drawbacks.