You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, unemployment is on the rise and so are the people that are actively searching for a job that suits their qualifications. Whether they should be assigned some volunteering work while they are receiving benefits from the state is a topic of serious debate. In my opinion, I am a high-profile proponent of employment seekers giving back to the community in one way or the other, or else they would be a burden on the nation's economy. There is no denying that we live in a highly competitive world. The rate of unemployment is significantly high all around the globe, which means that the government has to provide for their expenses and healthcare during their time of no available source of income. It would not only adversely affect the nation's budget but more so, it would make the youth indolent and dependent on social security payments for their survival. There are many assignments that could benefit from volunteers undertaking the project that needs immediate attention for which the authorities are unable to meet the capital requirements. For instance, a leading newspaper recently published that skilled workers are required to build a district's broken prison ceiling as they are incapable of hiring professionals due to the shortage of incoming bonuses from the state. Hence, during such dire times, jobless individuals that are receiving stipends should be assigned to fulfil their duty to the public. As a result of it, they would be considered an economically active population. To conclude, job seekers should be serving the community as it will not only positively occupy their time and put their skills to good use but it will also be beneficial for the state as the administrative parties will have to pay out less to the various governing bodies.