These days consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

We live in a world today dominated by advertising. In this essay, I will discuss the potential influence on consumers as well as suggest various measures to protect customers. People are influenced by commercials that they come across on a daily basis and it is well shown in their behaviours, individuals nowadays tend to purchase products that they don't usually use or even need, and the first to blame is advertising, for instance, in a survey done in a Mall in London people admitted that sometimes they buy stuff that they don't require. Moreover, with the help of recent innovations and breakthroughs in technology, humans have access to the internet everywhere and at all times, whether through their smartphones or laptops, as a consequence, they are bombarded constantly with advertisements and being heavily influenced by them. To address this, there are several potential approaches, the government is the first one who is responsible to act to minimize the damage to its citizens, and that's by introducing new laws to protect them, a good example is by putting ethical boundaries to forbid advertising agencies from manipulating individuals via complex techniques into purchasing their products. Furthermore, every advertisement should be viewed and supervised by experts before airing it; therefore, if it contains manipulations of any kind, it must be removed instantly, and penalise the company, as a result, commercials would become more neutral and unbiased, for example, in many Asian countries, local authorities prevent the airing of several advertisements that they were condemned to be harmful. To conclude, as I have discussed, consumers are indeed influenced by advertising and steps need to be taken to tackle these consequences.