Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today´s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals argue that history is one of the most crucial subjects, whereas others believe, in the present time, science and technology subjects triumph over the importance of history. Even though, history might prevent humans from repeating previous mistakes in addition to educating their descendants about their origin and values, in my opinion, science and technology subjects will provide our youth with better skills, leading to increased job opportunities. On the one hand, history is a subject with numerous benefits. The first main advantage is that it gives younger generations the possibility to study and learn from the mistakes of their ancestors whether it is a political or environmental issue. For instance, if countries who were involved in World War 1 would have known the outcome of a similar conflict, I think they would have taken non-violence measurements. Another positive aspect of teaching history as a subject is that the history of humanity and our planet will not be forgotten, such as evolution, languages and natural catastrophes. On the other hand, the modern times we live in today require certain skills. As everything is being digitalised, society needs people that are equipped with the right set of qualifications such as IT, teachers and health professionals who can make use of the modern equipment the government provides. Therefore, by studying science and technology subjects, students can become doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and better teachers or they can simply be employed by big companies such as Google and Apple, in well-paid positions. In conclusion, acquiring sufficient knowledge about the past and the origin of humans may prevent us from repeating the most awful mistakes of our history. However, I personally believe that science and technology subject, will in the modern era we have entered give better-paid jobs and attractive expertise.