Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual wehen they return to education. To what extent do you agree or dissagree?

Nowadays, gap-year becomes one of the options for those who have just finished one or some stages of education. There are many reasons for these and two of them are to find a job and to go on vacation. Some people believe that this will give more advantages to the students once they continue their academic life. My opinion will stand for supporting that idea, and this essay will explain the reasons. Firstly, education at the moment requires students to attend school for at least 12 years, which is a very long period. During those times, probably the children have gone through various events, not only academic issues but also social problems. For example, the high school students in Indonesia right now have to be in charge of a curriculum which requires them to be more active in class. On the other hand, some of them are introverts and the interacting method such as presentation is taking so much of their energy. To make it worse, they have to survive with that every single day for three years before they attend college. That is why after graduating, they need some time to relax. Secondly, some of the students might spend most of their early education following the offer from their parents. Consequently, they have never been brave to make a decision for their own life such as choosing their next major of education. It usually impacts their future motivation, when they have to live with something they do not love, they will have less desire for it. Because of that, it is important to take some time to learn about their own self and to be aware of what they actually want. These can be gotten by trying some new activities such as internships, part-time jobs, or services to the community. For instance, joining a charity organisation as a volunteer will help a person to know his/her capability or interest in a particular field by working directly in social life. Lastly, taking a rest for a while from academic things and going for a long holiday will help their brain to be more relaxed, and lead them to be more focused in the future. The student life sometimes goes too tough and makes people burn out, especially when they go through it for a long period. That is why taking a long journey will become one kind of escape from those hard times. To sum up, I do agree with the idea of taking a year out after finishing some stage of school, because I believe it is necessary to give the person some times to rest or to learn more about themselves. What do they want? What do they need? It is the right way to live life?