Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Successful economy and a neat environment of a country are thought by some to be realizable and incompatible at the same time. However, while I believe that being financially successful and having a good looking environment are automatically connected, I agree that they could have become unachievable. In terms of being a financially successful country, the citizens are well educated persons. For instance Singapore, despite their accomplishments for their economy, the people who live there are taking care of their own environment. Being socially responsible is one of the laws for any companies, and they must have allocated some of their income for social and environmental responsibility. On the other hand, focusing on how to uplift a country ’s economy too much could ignore their own environmental health. For example, countries who are successful in oil production like Iraq, Iran and Saudi Arabia, could still not know about what they are doing that can damage the climate and their surrounding environment. Some other industries are also too busy for their own benefit without taking care of their waste. From my perspective, I could have agreed with both statements depending on which successful economic country we are talking about because of their unique conditions. A case in point is France which can be both a successful economy and a neat looking environment, whereas in the USA, they may be successful in their economy but this country is too wide that they could not take care of all of its environment. To conclude, although a successful economy and healthy environment could be accomplished by a country, there are some conditions that make it not work along the way depending on how a country achieves their economic success. Local governments and citizens should be more aware not only about their economy but also their environment.