Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? How can we solve this problem?

It is worrying that food waste is a far-reaching problem in our modern society. Although this scenario has resulted from the lack of awareness and negative contributions from stores, hope can be found in the form of education and food waste fine systems. This essay will first outline the underlying causes of this phenomenon before suggesting some viable solutions to an be attributed to two main reasons. One of these is insufficient knowledge. Nowadays, edible products are so over-supplied in certain areas that the public simply takes them for granted. Consumers who are responsible for worsening the problem are usually uninformed, or negligent about the matter and its consequences. These individuals tend to purchase consumables in a quantity that is greater than their actual needs. Moreover, they possess a mindset that excessive, unneeded food items can be thrown away without consequences. The increasing volume of food waste can be attributed to two main reasons. One of these is that many people are not really aware of how food waste is exacerbating environmental problems like climate change and global warming, which is possibly why they have irresponsible habits of discarding food. This is compounded by the fact that just a limited few restaurants have regulations on customers’ food leftovers, like charging them extra fees if they have excessive amounts of food uneaten. As a consequence, many individuals just discard food without any hesitation, as this behavior incurs no further costs. In order to rectify this situation, there needs to be educational efforts, combined with intervention in the form of financial penalties. The government should create campaigns to inform and educate the public about food wastage. This possible solution will have positive effects in the long run, as more people become aware of and fight against food waste. Regarding the second suggestion, businesses should be penalised if they discard too much food. This system could also be altered to apply in restaurants, aiming at guests who have unfinished dishes. Thus, it can be seen that food waste is the outcome of unawareness from consumers and contributions from stores. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that educational activities and penalties are urgently needed.