In the world today, it is private companies rather than governments who pay for and carry out scientific research. Do the advantages outweigh any disadvantages?

Contemporary private companies invest more resources in scientific research than the government does. People often argue that such a trend will cause a negative impact on society because private companies might monopolize the entire market. From my perspective, however, the benefits of private companies serving as the main supporters far outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will illustrate the underlying reason that supports this opinion. The first reason is private institutions are more effective. It is undeniable that private institutions have to deal with less "red tape". For instance, SpaceX, a private company founded by Elon Musk-Tesla CEO, committed to the development of space travel. A test rocket exploded accidentally, however, the only words Elon Musk said is "Fail fast and learn faster". In addition to the increase in efficiency, such a trend can promote the government to allocate more budget to social welfare. In other words, the government can be more focused on benefiting its people. For example, the Chinese government, which is also developing space technology, was often complained by their people. Most Chinese want their government to reinforce the stability of the economic system instead of sending "fireworks" into space. Some people might be worried that private companies can earn huge profits from the public and break the balance of the economy. Nevertheless, private companies have to face the high risk of developing advanced technology which the common people do not want to take. By way of conclusion, both social welfare and scientific research play a pivotal role in social development, however, the resources are limited. Thus, it is probably the best strategy for private companies to take the profits and the risk.