Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there are different perspectives regarding children education. Some sectors of society are in favour of children studying all the subjects at school while others believe that it would be much better if they focus on their prominent or more interested subjects. I believe that both views have a point as I will argue in the following paragraphs. In my opinion, I am confident that children need to be listened, having the opportunity of learning whatever they are interested into as well as there are some basic knowledge they need to learn be inserted in their societies. In the first place, teaching all the subjects at school is interesting considering the possibility of presenting to children diverse contents and objects of study. I think that for people who support this point of view, their purpose is the introduction of children in the world, in order they get general knowledge related to different aspects of life such as maths, native and foreign language and sciences. Even if it has a good purpose, we cannot deny that this way of thinking is obsolete as has its origins in XIX Century, in which schooling was a matter of state as nations needed to dominate and organize their populations. Likewise, having the same educational structure two centuries after is the proof that this idea is not flexible as it does not respond to the numerous demands of modern globalized societies. On the other hand, considering teaching to children only subjects that they are interested into or that they are good at, it would probably be the best way to face this fast paced world. Children are not the same as before, and school must be adapted to the new demands. For instance, technological advances have impacted on the way how people learn, introducing them into the virtual world. Another massive change is the priority of critical thinking and learning skills over the knowledge in fact. In this case, it is important that pupils learn how to learn and think, using different tools to explore numerous subjects enjoyed by them. In conclusion, even if studying all the subjects at school bring a lot of benefits such as having a general idea of what objects of study are, it may not be responding to all the needs that this century is demanding to the society. In other words, I believe that it would be better combining the best variables of both sides, which is teaching to children all the elementary knowledge but focussing on the inclusion of technology in the classroom as well as the improvement of their learning skills through the approach of different motivating subjects.