Drug abuse is becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Nowadays, people have completely normalised the intake of toxic substances for leisure. The problem with this is that most of them are highly addictive converting the consumer into an addict. It is clear that increasing the number of drug addicts in a community also rises the percentage of criminals in the population. Overall, there is a lot of work that could be done in order to manage this issue.  It is common to observe some dramatic increases in vandalism in big cities, where in most cases drugs are involved. During the last years in most of the big,capitals violent crimes had increased dramatically when individuals are under drug effects, therefore this is making them completely dependent. On the other hand, there are also cases of street aggression between drug dealers who are not addicts but promote substance addiction. However, there are many ways society could address this problem in a more effective way. One of them would be more drug education from a young age and make understanding what are the effects on their body. For example, schools could include some visits to rehab centres since It is important to create awareness of what are the consequences of drug consumption. It is also clear that governments need to invest more in those rehabilitation centres and health professionals, in order to help addicts to recover. To conclude, the normalisation of drug addiction not only promotes more violence but also gives a bad example to young generations. It is important to address this from an early education point to make sure the youth is aware of the deadly consequences of it. Increasing the accessibility of rehab centres would be a benefit for populated cities where addiction is more common.