Some countries have introduced laws to limit the workinb hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these laws introduced? Is this a positove or negative trend?

In past years, It was not uncommon to see workers being overworked and pressured by employers. To put a halt to this, a lot of countries have implemented laws to constrain working hours. This essay will discuss why these laws are being implemented and explain why this is a positive development for humanity. The main cause why the working hours are being limited is to stop the exploitation of the working class by companies. Without any restrictions in place, the employees can be pressurized to stay at their job for longer hours which in turn can cause burnout and serious health issues like depression, anxiety, etcetera. To cite an example, in the early years of the industrial revolution, individuals were forced to work 12 or 16 hours a day in European countries which is why such laws are necessary to implement. Clearly, enforcing strict labour laws has a positive effect. Limited working hours help in uplifting quality of life because fewer hours at work results in having more free time for family and friends which in turn leads to a fulfilled life. On top of that, if there is less pressure at work, then there would be fewer health issues. For example, in countries without these laws, people are facing more mental health issues related to work as compared to countries which have strict labour laws in place, which proves that these laws are a positive trend for society. In conclusion, the benefits of strict labour laws are a lot, and this essay discussed only a few. Still, the countries should not only pass these rules but also try their best to implement them.