Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that there are many spoken languages among the nations. Some specialists are convinced that students should start studying a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school. This essay will explain how the positive sides of doing so outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, learning a foreign language at an early age is very easy for some primary students as children are fast learners and always open to acquiring new knowledge. Since kids are less afraid of making mistakes, this gives them an opportunity to use the language in their daily routine without feeling embarrassed that they will speak wrongly. Moreover, the children’s brains are still fresh, more vocabularies could be added to their brains easily. For example, a half-caste baby is able to understand 2 languages spoken by his parents simultaneously within a short period of time. Despite these advantages, learning a foreign language too early can also have drawbacks. Since primary school students are still young, they may be forced to study another language without consent. Therefore, they learn the language without willingness which will affect the efficient of their study. Furthermore, due to social inequality, certain parents may not have enough time to support their child for practising the new language at home as they required to work for affording the family expenses. In conclusion, even though studying a foreign language is difficult if students do not support by their parents or some students are not willing to study, learning a foreign language since primary school provides privileges for the students since the children’s ability to learn is high and not going to be criticized for making errors in using language. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.