It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21th century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

The innovation of advanced automation was anticipated to have a significant role in increasing the number of leisure moments of individuals in the 21st century compared to the previous ages. I contend with the idea and this essay will explain the reasons why. Although it is undeniable that cutting-edge technology has made people's routine become much easier and faster in several aspects, it does not always imply that they could spend those extra hours as desire. Accountants, for example, could calculate and organize financial data quicker than ever with the help of Microsoft Excel. However, they tend to begin the next assignment as soon as they finished the last one, meaning there is no free age for them still. Despite the aforementioned fact, breakthrough technology does, generally, grants individuals additional free hours. In other words, developments simplify people's lives in terms of their daily basis. For instance, such automatically operated household appliance as a dishwasher and vacuum robot allows housewives to have more day to spend with their children since only housework has to be done manually. Another obvious example of how technological advancement could aid in time-saving is oversea transportation. To elaborate, the invention of the aeroplane has significantly reduced the hour used to travel between countries from days to merely a few hours. In conclusion, regardless of how each person chooses to spend their extra free hour obtained via using sophisticated machinery, I believe that they would definitely have much more leisure space in comparison to those who lived in the past eras.