Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think this is a waste of money because people can get access to information on the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The advent of the internet has made a significant change in how people live, even libraries nowadays could be digitized. Opinion on whether public libraries should be opened freely in each town by the government or be fully replaced by the Internet is largely divided. While many endorse the plus point of using solely electrical resources, I am more convinced of the government's uncharged public libraries provision being ubiquitous. Advocates of the internet -based library could base their argument on utilitarian beliefs. It could be said that the government is dutiful to present the mainstream common interest and welfare to the majority, in which the freedom to seek knowledge, stay informed, and expand one’s cognitive ability is included. Electrical resources and online libraries seem to easily address these concerns by providing a mutual server giving free communal accessibility to newspapers, magazines, urban archives, etc. with just a click of a “Login” button. This solution is said to be cost-effective and convenient compared to establishing public libraries in every town, yet, it is a huge fallacy since building a public online service would not save any more money, if not, more expensive. Some may also claim that internet -based libraries give users unlimited access to the intelligence of the word, thereby, it would improve the reading habit of citizens overall. However, the personal reading preference among residents is not similar, especially among the elders,who prefer paper-based materials, not to mention the computer literacy and affordability of private internet. Therefore, at least for now, shifting toward a completely digital national library system is not an appropriate approach. In my view, the functions of public libraries are beyond the mere channel for accessing information. First, public libraries today serve as multifunctional social venues, offering a wide range of services such as physical space that foster community engagement, intellectual exploration, and lifelong learning. To illustrate, in Vietnam, the proportion of juveniles fascinated by reading books is minuscule, hence in order to proliferate young readers, public libraries often held “book camp” or “book workshop” in summer vacation to stimulate reading culture. Second, the approach of using taxpayers’ money to build communal libraries is desirable for promoting civil equality, since not everyone has the means or ability to access the internet.These resources can benefit individuals who may not have access to such facilities at home or in their local communities. In conclusion, although the Internet offers convenience and vast amounts of information, I reckon that public libraries offer unique advantages such as community engagement, access to physical resources and promoting equality.