Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe is is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people have clear goals for their future and know what degree they want to obtain. On the other hand, others may not have a definite plan, so they decide to explore more than one field. The following essay will explore these two distinct points of view. I believe that investing time and effort into several career paths is a safer choice. Taking an interest in more than one subject can reap benefits in the future. Pursuing different fields of interest allows individuals to make more confident decisions about their future careers. Should an individual embark on a career they are not certain about, there is a possibility they would regret it further down the line. I agree with this. A good example to support this view is a social survey that was conducted among adults between the ages of thirty and forty years. It proposed the question of, If given the choice to decide their career paths again, would they make the same decision? Unsurprisingly, around forty per cent of the respondents stated that they would not make the same decisions. However, opponents may argue that focusing on one career aspiration, by only learning its related subjects, is a more intelligent way to go about making decisions. The notion of exploring too many subjects can lead to confusion, which in return causes individuals to loose sight of attainable goals, like obtaining one adequate qualification. For example, an article released by a well-known medical journal, explained how aspiring doctors often choose to pursue the medical field from an earlier age as compared to people who are studying other majors. This is because medical students pour all their effort solely on their required subjects. However, I believe it is unwise to make decisions without thoroughly vetting all of the available options. To conclude, while some individuals may set their eyes on one particular subject,and respective qualification, I believe it is more sensible to sufficiently analyze all of the available pathways and subsequently make an informed decision.