Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that these days the number of crimes are risen due to poverty and educational inequality. While some individuals believe that reducing crime is the government's responsibility. Conversely, there are those people who believe that each individual should avoid crime by himself/herself. This essay will discuss both points of view, along with the reason why it is both governments and individuals responsible for preventing crime. To begin with, it is understandable for some to believe that government should play a main role in decreasing crimes. This is probably because the main causes of crimes are poverty and education inequality, as it can be seen that most underdeveloped countries acquire higher crime rates than developed countries. For instance, one individual who lacks the money and knowledge to be employed has no alternatives to earn money. As a result, he commits a crime. Therefore, when government concentrates on resolving these aforementioned reasons for crimes, the number of criminal cases should be significantly dropped. On the other hand, people in society are also required to prevent crime by themselves. All adults should teach their children about the severity of the crime's penalties, as they will try to avoid committing a crime. Moreover, each individual should avoid performing actions which may cause a crime. For example, carrying massive of money without any covering, walking alone at night in a dangerous place. In conclusion, I strongly believe that crime cannot prevent by solely either the government or individuals as everyone should collaborate with each other. Furthermore, I believe that while the government focus on improving the standard of living and other issues, residents should avoid crime themselves as well.