In some countries the elderly are highly valued and respected, while in others youth is more highly valued. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some nations value teenagers, while others value senior citizens. This can be due to the population size, but there are various other important reasons why this change is noticed. I, personally, believe, a country should value their future generation more to progress towards becoming a developed country, but this might not be true for all countries. In my essay below, I will further discuss the benefits and drawbacks of both sides. Firstly, the younger generation is valued more in most countries because their beliefs and lifestyle will impact the future of the country. For instance, in India, If a country has a more educated younger population compared to the previous generation, it means that the country is progressing towards becoming a highly educated nation. Since their lives and behavioural changes have the power to change the future, it is wise to value them more than the elder community. While this can be true in many under-developed or developing countries, in many developed countries, the elder population are also given more importance. This is because, as kids are becoming more independent in such countries, senior citizens might not receive the care and respect they desire, leading to increase death rates. Furthermore, it is also important that we respect our elders, since through them, we learn to cherish our cultural values. A country's cultural beliefs should be taught to the younger generation as they can be propagated further. This cannot be achieved if we do not value our elders as our kids. In conclusion, most countries value younger people more due to the greater impact it has on a country's growth, but it is also equally important to value the elder population as it is our responsibility to cherish our cultural values and teach them to our kids.