Today more and more people want things instantly (e.g. goods, service, news, ….) Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

The demand for instant punctuality is increasing. I believe this situation is a positive development due to the fact that it increases our pace of life which may lead to more efficiency, and also the fact that punctuality reinforces good habits is a positive factor, despite some who believe this pace may introduce more stress in people ’s daily lives. It must be acknowledged that as the attitude of want things done immediately grows, the pace of life changes significantly. Because people are getting faster in working, they will get more tasks achieved. As a consequence, people can enjoy increased rewards in a short amount of time. For instance, companies who have quick and hard-working employees may accelerate the progress of many projects, providing that work is done correctly in the first place. However, those who disagree may say this attitude will just result in more stress. They argue that as people are demanded to do more tasks with short deadlines, they accumulate more pressure and thus result in failure. Although this point is valid, I believe this will lead to a high-risk, high-reward situation where people may benefit just as much as they work hard. One other fact worth noticing is the habit of doing things before deadlines will lead to a useful mindset. In other words, those who have this habit may be more quick-witted and capable of solving problems in a short amount of time. As a consequence, students and workers alike may have their work easily done at a quick pace, and therefore help them have more free time for leisure activities. In conclusion, while the attitude of wanting things done may seem bad to some people, my belief is that it increases efficiency and reinforce good habits. Thus this recently seen attitude is a positive development.