The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this statement?

In contemporary society, scientific research has consistently been a topic of interest among the masses. The statement - Improving humanity's lives is the central goal of scientific development presents a viewpoint that is both thought-provoking and debatable. Despite its contentious nature, I am inclined to oppose this perspective, as I believe societies should make environmental problems a priority and furthermore, this is the main problem that scientists need to dedicate to solving. There is little doubt that scientific research plays an important role in the fast-changing world. Inventions from small scales such as microwaves to large scales like high-speed rails or even intangible open AI -ChatGPT did bring infinite convenience to human life. In the near future, robots can replace most of the job positions which are boring and repeating. Due to unstopping research and scientists understanding the world more, people's lives become incredibly comfortable. It is therefore reasonable that science is without doubt improving and bringing convenience to humanity's community. However, the aforementioned perspectives overlook the environment as the only decisive reason that decides how long people can live. If people keep ignoring the alerts from the earth, human extinction is only a matter of time. Therefore, I believe, the development of science should aim at solving the extreme global environmental disaster. To elaborate, numerous farms are facing the situation - disappearing of bees. Bees help plants in the process of pollination and thus are necessary to most flowers and fruit-producing trees. Without bees, humanity would be dead within a year or less. Therefore, it is crucial that scientists find effective ways to solve the disaster. Such an instance challenges the initial assertion and supports my opinion that decreasing concerns and the phenomenon of global warming is more important than improving people's lives, otherwise, the whole societies of humanity will die out soon. In conclusion, reflecting upon the statement science is focused on advancing people's life standards is not black or white. But it is crucial to acknowledge the earth is the treasure that whole communities should put in the first place. Given the consideration, my allegiance that the goal of science's improvement is to prolong the deterioration of the earth's environment is steadfastly consolidated and remains incontrovertibly firm.