In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In many countries across the globe, lightening or whitening skin-care products are in profitable demand. There are many reasons behind this issue, yet several consequences affect people’s health and their society itself. I will elaborate in subsequent paragraphs. The hegemony of white beauty standards in the world is the major reason why individuals are inclined to purchase whiting and lightening cosmetic goods. It is undeniable that advertisement plays a pivotal role in this case. Taking Indonesia as an example, many celebrities, who have white or light skin, are adored by many fans and become role models in beauty terms. Not to mention that the cosmetic company hires them as their brand ambassador. As a result, having white sheaths is an aspiration of many populations, and they have a tendency to buy white cream. Nonetheless, this trend affects in many ways both health and social perspectives. In the community, folk who do not follow the social skin standard tend to experience underestimated. Consequently, many people push themselves to be white, and they impulsively buy cosmetics without considering the detrimental impacts on their healthy skin. For example, many whitening products are expensive and no one can afford that. However, because the willingness to be white is huge, they tend to buy cheaper products which contain hazardous ingredients that caused severe surface diseases such as cancer and irritation. To sum up, the dominance of white beauty standards significantly influences the demands of whitening and lightening cosmetics. Moreover, this trend causes prophesied consequences for dangerous illnesses that should be taken into account.