Nowadays more and more people have household appliances, such as refrigerators or washing machines. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary times, there is an increase in the ownership of domestic electronic appliances such as refrigerators or washing machines among the populace. Although there are possible drawbacks, I still believe it is a positive development. Undeniably, the trend of the increasing number of people owning household appliances results in problems. These machines are usually energy and resource-consuming, since their behaviours are controlled by fixed programs and unable to change flexibly as the condition changes, therefore increasing the demand for energy and intensifying the environmental crisis. However the rapid update of modern technology has broadened the horizon of domestic appliances designers and machines with less energy consumption and AI built-in controlling systems have been produced, resulting in smarter and greener electronic appliances. Thus, despite the initial problem still exists, the technology boom has already reduced them and developing environmental-friendlier electronics. Moreover, the application of such domestic electronic appliances also frees people from repetitive and heavy housework, enabling them to seek a life with better quality. The invention of refrigeration allows families to keep fresh food for a longer time without the additional preservation process, which is time and labour-consuming, and also unhealthy as it may cause cancer. The washing machines liberated people from the hardship of washing jobs in harsh weather and enabled them to focus on other things instead of spending lots of time on washing. In short, the life with household electronics becomes easier and healthier. In conclusion, although household appliances have some negative impacts on the environment, these problems can be reduced by the technology boom and the benefit of it on people's life is significant; thus the positive impact outweighs the negative ones.