Scientists tell us some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that million of people continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

A gap year provides an opportunity to learn about the world and earn money.One year can be utilised in travelling across world to learn what life is like outside of the education system. Also,third-level education is expensive, and many students can work in an entry-level job to earn and save before they start their studies.The average student in the U.K. need around 10000 pounds per annum to survive,and many students drop out because they cannot afford to stay. Despite these advantages, students lose a year that could have advanced their future careers,and they often get too accustomed to travelling or working that they probably will not return to a life of study.As corporate world is so competitive that even a year of experience will give other applicants an advantage in hiring. Moreover some will take on an entry-level job and keep working in a job beneath their capabilities and not getting the same prospects that their future career might have. For example,many gap year students work in the service industry which are easier jobs to get without a degree only to be stuck in them for the rest of their life. In conclusion,taking a break from studies is advantageous if it allows students to accumulate savings or learn about the world. However,they should be careful that it will not delay the start of their careers and lead to disillusionment with education.