Some people believe arts like painting and music do not directly improve people's life, so governments should spend more on other things: Do you agree or disagree?

Governments in many regions nowadays invest a tidy sum in arts, including building statues and different types of art events. While some people argue that the money could have better use in other aspects, such as basic construction and public transportation, I strongly agree the importance of financially support art activities due to various positive effects derived from it. On the one hand, opponents who convey that only minority will benefit from the investments in arts, in which most of them are those with privilege who do not need financial supports. In other words, those events, including art exhibitions and concerts could be hold by commercial institutions instead of public authorities. For example, some residents in Taiwan are suggest that national museums should charge participants as part of incomes for maintainance, since not everyone will enjoy those facilities. On the other hand, I am in favour of those positive influence provoked by various arts, including the status that could represent the spirite of a nation; and music festivals which could boost local economic. First of all, iconic statues could enhance the visibilities of a nation in the world, on top of that, it could pass down the culture to the younger generation. For example, the Merlion in Singapore is represent their hardworking ancestors. Secondly, special art events could attract many oversea visitors and improve local economic, despite that residents may not attend the events, they are able to benefit from such activities. Take the annual Jazz music festival as an example, it attracts hundreds and thousands of tourists from other cities as well as other nations, which stimulates local hospitality industries. To summarise, it is inevitable that the money spend on arts could affect the development of basic constructions, however, in my perspective, there are more advantages derived from art activities.