In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In many countries, particularly in Asia skin whitening products are incredibly popular and provide huge profits for companies involved in this industry. This essay examines why people tend to use these types of results and the effects this has on society and people ’s health. The principal reason that people use whitening products is that they prefer to have white skin because of its’ desirable status. For example, in ancient times, higher-class people had the privilege of staying indoors while low-status ones had to work in the fields or farming in outside. Consequently, they look fair and attractive while workers had dark skin. As a result of this evolution, this has been attributed to humans’ psychological side. Another reason is that, desire to have a Western look. It has become viral among Asian people. For instance, they are trying to imitate Westerns by doing plastic surgeries on their noses and eyelids. In addition, the media is giving vast publicity to some personalities who look white or change their appearances and also companies who produce those sorts of products. However, despite the fact that having white looks may improve a person’s self-esteem, these products bring detrimental effects on health and society. To illustrate this concern, it has been discovered that using those categories of chemical items, might bring many side effects such as skin cancer, and harm to kidneys or livers due to their’ containers such as mercury and several acids. Moreover, when considering society, it is a very unsuitable practice that is subject to discriminate against dark ones in respect of their skin. As a consequence, society will face some prejudice or stereotype conditions in the future and it will result in segregating people. In conclusion, people apply these types of products; because the media play a huge role in raising awareness of these items. However, immediately this should be ended and should provide awareness of the negative and harmful effects on health and society for the betterment of everyone.