Some people think learning painting and drawing at school is a waste of time while others think it is important. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It is considered by most of individuals that having painting and drawing a part of the curriculum at school is a waste of time whereas others opine that it is vital to learn drawing and painting. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and I strongly believe that learning drawing and painting is equally important as other subjects. To commence with, the humans who believe that learning to draw and paint at school is a waste of time is because they think that only academic subjects like Science or Mathematics can bring success to their children. To elaborate, they want their children to focus only on these subjects to get good careers in the future instead of adopting arts as their main subject. For instance, a survey conducted at different schools in India revealed that 80 per cent of parents want their children to adopt Science as a main subject for higher studies because they have thought that painting can not provide a secure future to them. As a result, learning drawing is not considered an important subject like Science and Mathematics. However, I strongly believe that having arts as a part of the syllabus can provide great painters to the Nation as well as a successful career for the students. To explain, some children are not good at learning the facts of Science but they have great drawing and painting skills. If they will focus on the same, they can earn good money as a painter. Like, Amit Singh, the well-known painter of India who was criticized by his own parents for doing art and not choosing Science as his main subject but later, he present his paintings at an international level and become a pride for the country along with earning great amount by selling his paintings to the people. In conclusion, Although some individuals have a thought that learning painting and drawing at institutes is not important, I opine that children should learn drawing and painting as it can also provide them great future.