One of the consequences of improves medical care is that people are living are longer and loife expectancy is increasing. Do you think trhe advantages of this developmwnt outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to technological advancements, the healthcare system is much more improvised than it used to be. Therefore, life expectancy has been increasing day by day, as we can see more old age people in society than before. In this,essay I will explain the pros and cons of extended life and why I feel that there are more positive factors related to living longer. One of the major drawbacks of elderly life is lack of independence. Old people are unable to do things on their own, therefore they need someone to take care of them. For instance, an old person with a critical illness always needs to be attended to by someone and it becomes very hard for working families. In addition to it, hiring a nurse or staying in retirement homes is quite expensive to afford. The longer the life would be, the harder it would be for the family both physically and economically. On the other side, people who are fit and healthy can take advantage of living long by enjoying it fully. People are usually more active in their sixties and seventies. Living longer will provide enough time for old people to enjoy their life after retirement and they can do things that they have not done in their life. For instance, my grandfather and grandmother went on vacation in their seventies and they said it was the best one they had in their entire life. Additionally, they could spend time with their grandchildren and can look after them. Hence, the more fit elderly people are, the easier it would be for them to enjoy elderly life. To conclude, the benefits of living long are far more than the drawbacks provided that the old people are healthy and are independent both financially and economically.