There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, youth suffer from heaps of stress related to their performance in their studies. Therefore, it is suggested by some individuals eliminate the courses which are unnecessary like sports and home sciences as it could aid the pressurised students to focus on academic fields. Analysing that I believe, it is not a great idea to remove these disciplines from the school syllabus concerning the unwinding time and the importance of non-academic studies. Firstly, one of the main reasons is that despite the burden of learning and performance in the exams, learners can get some relief during school time if they are involved in activities. In Canada, the educational curriculum consists of at least 2 hours of doing fun tasks as it will improve the learning capabilities. Consequently, the often breaks from regular classes a day boost exam scores by refreshing young brains. Thus, if schoolers will continuously focus on important subjects, they might lose their interest. Secondly, even though courses like mathematics and sciences are crucial, some youngsters might have skills like art, music and craft which are beyond books. Certainly, this prowess cannot be neglected for the sake of other academic subjects. For example, Van Gogh, one of the most famous artists said that he was never a bookworm as he believed in drawing since childhood, and he was never concerned of attended other classes. Hence, neglecting such subjects can hinder the future career of the young generation. In conclusion, some individuals advise removing the non-academic curriculum from the educational system so that children could focus more on other academic work. However, the opposite scenario seems to hold equal importance as some extra activities in the learning routine are stress relieving and the interest of students cannot be neglected in the field which is outside the books.