Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in foreinge country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Some individuals claim that acquiring a foreign language is only needed for travelling and working, whereas others believe there are plethora of other reasons beside these two. This essay will first shed a light on both standpoints and then decide which one suits the reality the most. Learning a new tongue is essential in order to visit other nations and get a decent job, which are often considered to be the only factors that impose people to do so. That is to say that the majority bother about it only when their mother tongue is not widely used there. For instance, a lot of tourists from Russia visiting Kazakhstan demonstrate apparent nonchallance about the local language because there is a tremendous diaspora of Russians living there. On the other hand, there can be myriads of other incentives for people to learn another tongue. To commence, seldom do studies regarding certain cultures attain their onset goals without trying to comprehend native languages. Not only does language provide scholars with valuable data like slangs and nation's ancient terminology, but also a description of local traditions. Moreover, it is crucial for one to acquire a local tongue prior to permanentally moving into foreign country. For example, person has to cooperate with his or her neighbours, who most likely would know nothing but their mother tongue. Overall, having considered distinctive interests, it is irrefutable to say that learning a foreign language has many other approaches than working and travelling and restraining factors only around these two flatly contradicts the reality.