Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

As an introduction, currently, with the advancement of global development and urbanisation, the proportion of people with non-communicable diseases is steadily rising. As a result, many of them are seeking alternative methods of recovering other than consulting their family physician. However, I believe that this is a hazardous step regarding health, as this will lead to poor control and increase complications of the illnesses, which will ultimately result in reduced life expectancy. Most countries have well-organised healthcare systems in order to decrease mortality and morbidity of long-term illnesses. Instead, the people seek recovery through some other poor quality systems, which have no evidence in clinical practice. Hence, this will lead to increase mortality among patients due to poor overall disease management and increase complications. For example, one research in Sri Lanka found out that, the people who default to clinic follow-up for traditional medications presented with a higher number of myocardial infarctions. On the other hand, the family doctor knows the conditions of his patients far better than these low-quality healthcare providers. In such circumstances, doctors provide superior overall care with medications, which have good evidence through clinical trials. In contrast, a number of patients change to alternative medicines as they cannot overcome the rising prices of hospitals and drugs as well as some disbelief in Western pills. However, these problems can be avoided by proper awareness programs and increasing government expenditure on hospitals. In conclusion, in order to cure their long-standing health problems, many civilians try to change their mode of healthcare. Anyhow,in my opinion, it is a negative development as this will result in higher mortality rates due to various hurdles.