Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views

Hosting major sports events is a prestige achievement and it is so privilege to obtain the chance. Based on human history, there are two main prestige events in international sports, namely the Olympics and FIFA World Cup. In this essay, I will elaborate advantages and disadvantages of a nation hosting these events from various aspects. Becoming a host of major events constitutes a great opportunity to acquaint cultures, values, and the way of life hosted nation to other countries, especially to spectators visiting countries to support their national team. Moreover, the host will get economic benefits because will have more jobs opportunity for their people. For example, they can sell souvenirs, jerseys, food and beverage around the venue whereby the competition is being held. Besides, economic activities will increase significantly in some sectors, particularly in accommodation, hotels and transportation. Furthermore, there will be a significant improvement in infrastructure, such as railways, highways, train stations and airports to welcome athletes and fans from around the world. These will lead to vigorous economic growth in the long term. However, host nations have to spend large amounts of money to prepare for these events, and if not calculated accurately, the cost might outweigh its profit. For example, in FIFA World Cup 2014 in Brazil, economic activities only increase by US$10 billion during the tournament, whereas their expenditure for the events accounted for US$14 billion to build a new stadium and infrastructure. On the other hand, statistics also show that after tournaments, some venues become derelict because the local government does not have money to maintain the stadium. In conclusion, hosting major sports events give economic benefits and infrastructure improvement for the host nation, but it will give them adverse impact if they are not analyzed cost and benefit accurately in investment for the state and their society.