Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many university students are now inclined to divide their time between studying for their major and pursuing interests in unrelated subjects. In my opinion, it is crucial for undergraduates to learn about a wide range of disciplines in order to best prepare themselves for the future. Those who support prioritizing one’s major argue the importance of specialization. At university, there are a range of potential distractions related to social life and living on one’s own. If a graduate wants to be successful in a future career, the most logical pathway is to prepare diligently in one specialization. For instance, undergraduates learning about chemical engineering will be a better potential candidates for well-paid positions if they have acquired a solid theoretical foundation and accumulated whatever practical experience is available in their courses. Any diversions that detract from this focus could hinder their early career progression. However, it is in fact more valuable long-term to view learning as an interdisciplinary experience. Many graduates will change or at least alter their professions as they begin working. Even those who remain in the same industry will benefit greatly from studying a variety of subjects. The above-mentioned engineer might be able to study figure drawing outside their main courses and come up with more creative ideas that combine multiple subjects in their main work. Even if the other subjects are not directly applicable to work, at the minimum they are likely to feel they have become a more diverse and well-rounded individual on a personal level. In conclusion, though time spent on one’s university major can lead to an improved discrete skillset, there is far greater value in possessing a breadth of knowledge. This range of information will serve as the foundation for a potentially more creative and fulfilling career and personal life.